BuildMaster Documentation

Preventing Deployment to Restricted Servers

  • Last Modified: 2019-07-17

Because a deployment plan can reference a server by name, users who have permission to edit a deployment plan could easily reference a restricted server (such as production), thus defeating any deployment restriction policies. To prevent this, you can elect to "restrict deployments" to that server.

To enable this feature, you must go to All Settings and enable server restrictions. It will then make a checkbox available on all servers to restrict deployments.

At runtime, when a restricted server is requested, if the server is not associated with the targeted environment (or, if no environment was specified on the pipeline target), then a runtime error will occur. This allows you to grant a wide array of permissions while keeping narrow restrictions, such as:

  • permission to edit plans, pipelines, and deploy builds
  • restriction to deploy builds to production

This can be unexpected and frustrating behavior, and we generally don't recommend it except for when there's a need for restricted servers.

Is this documentation incorrect or incomplete? Help us by contributing!

This documentation is licensed under CC-BY-SA-4.0 and stored in GitHub.

Generated from commit 7dbbedf1 on master